• Home
  • Government Revitalizes Tertiary Education with Appointment of New Governing Councils
Government Revitalizes Tertiary Education

Government Revitalizes Tertiary Education with Appointment of New Governing Councils

Government Revitalizes Tertiary Education

Government Revitalizes Tertiary Education: The Federal Government of Nigeria

has taken a significant step towards revitalizing the country’s tertiary education sector

by establishing new governing councils for federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education.

This development, announced on May 17, 2024, by the Permanent Secretary of the

Federal Ministry of Education, Mrs. Didi Esther Walson-Jack, marks a significant

milestone in the government’s efforts to address the challenges facing the sector.

The newly appointed councils comprise a Pro-Chancellor/Chairman and four external

members for each of the 111 tertiary institutions, carefully selected to bring a wealth

expertise and experience to the table. The members include former senators, legal luminaries,

traditional rulers, and other distinguished individuals who have made significant contributions to the country’s development.

Government Revitalizes Tertiary Education: the governing councils

The formation of these new governing councils follows the dissolution of the previous

ones almost a year ago, which had led to protests by the Academic Staff Union of Universities

(ASUU) and threats of a nationwide strike if their demands were not met within two weeks.

The union had expressed concerns over the prolonged vacancy in the governing councils,

which had hindered the effective management of the institutions.

The new governing councils are expected to play a crucial role in addressing the challenges

facing the tertiary education sector, including funding, infrastructure, and academic standards.

They will be responsible for overseeing the management of the institutions, ensuring

that they are run in a transparent and accountable manner, and making strategic decisions

to enhance the quality of education.

the retreat

The inauguration and retreat for the new governing councils are scheduled to

take place on May 30 and 31, 2024, at the National Universities Commission in Abuja.

This event will provide an opportunity for the new council members to familiarize

themselves with their roles and responsibilities, as well as to engage with stakeholders in the sector.

The list which comprises technocrats, politicians and traditional rulers is made up

of 50 federal universities, 37 polytechnics and 24 colleges of education.

According to the list, while a former Minister of Budget and Economic Planning,

Udoma Udo Udoma was appointed as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of Bayero University, Kano, Kano State, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Chief Wole Olanipekun was named as Pro-Chancellor/Chairman, University of Lagos (UNILAG), even as a former Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda leads the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

In the same vein, the University of Abuja which is currently embroiled in an indefinite strike called by its ASUU chapter is headed by Prof. Jibrilla Dahiru Amin.

the SAN

Also, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Yusuf Ali, was named as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman,

Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, a former Executive Secretary

of National Universities Commission (NUC) Professor Emeritus Peter Okebukola as well as Dr. Abiodun Layonu head the University of Port Harcourt and University of Benin Governing Councils respectively.

Similarly, chairmen of boards of polytechnics include: HRH Arc. Ezeogo Ewa Elechi

(Federal Polytechnic, Ugep, Cross River State), Salisu Kallamu (Federal Polytechnic,

Oko, Anambra State), Ekem Okeke (Federal Polytechnic, Orogun, Delta State), Sir Paul C. Chukwuma (Federal Polytechnic Kabo, Kano State), Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi (Federal Polytechnic, Daura, Katsina State), Otunba Tajudeen Abioye (Yaba College of Technology, Lagos State), Prof Erik Omogbai (Federal Polytechnic Bida, Niger State) among others.

For colleges of education, the immediate past Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry

of Education, David Andrew Adejo heads the Federal College of Education (Technical),

Akoka, Lagos State as Chairman while renowned labour leader, Comrade Isa Aremu

pilots affairs as Chairman of the Governing Board of Federal College of Education

(Tech), Keana, Nasarawa State. Also in the list is Sen. Binta Masi (Federal College of Education,

Iditep, Akwa Ibom State), Prof. Isah Garba (Federal College of Education, Kontagora, Niger State), Sen. Emmanuel Anosike (Federal College of Education, Aha-Amufu, Enugu State) among others.

in conclusion

Overall, the establishment of new governing councils for federal universities,

polytechnics, and colleges of education is a positive development that is expected

to have a significant impact on the quality of tertiary education in Nigeria.

It demonstrates the government’s commitment to addressing the challenges

facing the sector and its determination to ensure that the country’s tertiary institutions

are run in a manner that is consistent with international best practices.

Leave a Reply